What is a 7.5 minute quadrangle map?

Jessy Mann asked a question: What is a 7.5 minute quadrangle map?
Asked By: Jessy Mann
Date created: Thu, May 6, 2021 10:43 AM
Date updated: Sun, Jul 10, 2022 9:58 AM


Top best answers to the question «What is a 7.5 minute quadrangle map»

A 7.5 minute quadrangle map covers an area of 49 to 70 square miles (130 to 180 km2)… On a quadrangle map, the north and south limits are not straight lines, but are actually curved to match Earth's lines of latitude on the standard projection.

8 other answers

A 7.5 quadrangle map is one of the standard topographic maps One degree is divided into 60 minutes. quad is 7.5 minutes of longitude wide and 7.5 minutes of latitude high. The scale is 1 to 24,000...

scale cover an area measuring 7.5 minutes of latitude and 7.5 minutes of longitude and are commonly called 7.5-minute quadrangle maps. Map coverage for most of the United States has been completed at this scale, except for Puerto Rico, which is mapped at 1:20,000 and

Each 7.5' map is bounded by two meridians and two parallels spaced 7.5 minutes apart. A scale of 1:31,680 allowed considerable detail to be shown in the quadrangle areas. Fragment of 7.5-minute Series Map of 1:31,680 Scale, circa 1947. Those cultural features that had been generalized or omitted on the 15-minute maps were now accurately shown.

The topographic map quadrangles are still commonly used as base maps for outlining data collection strategies and defining project boundaries. Thus, it is useful to characterize the extent of the topographic change inventory in terms of the footprints of the 7.5-minute map series.

A 7.5 minute quadrangle map covers an area of 49 to 70 square miles (130 to 180 km 2). Both map series were produced via photogrammetric analysis of aerial photography using stereoplotters supplemented by field surveys.

USGS 7.5 Minute Topographic Quadrangles National Geographic is allowing everyone to easily download any USGS 7.5 minute topo map in the continental U.S. as a multi-page PDF that can be printed on letter size paper on any printer.

The best known USGS maps are the 1:24,000-scale topographic maps, also known as 7.5-minute quadrangles. From approximately 1947 to 1992, more than 55,000 7.5-minute maps were made to cover the 48 conterminous states. Similar maps at varying scales were produced during the same time period for Alaska, Hawaii, and US Territories.

Most USGS map series divide the United States into quadrangles bounded by two lines of latitude and two lines of longitude. For example, a 7.5-minute map shows an area that spans 7.5 minutes of latitude and 7.5 minutes of longitude, and it is usually named after the most prominent feature in the quadrangle.

Your Answer