Top best answers to the question «How do you delete facebook messages from years ago»
Open a conversation with messages you'd like to delete. Press and hold on a message, or select the three dots menu icon on desktop. Select “remove” next to the message.
9 other answers
- Log out of Facebook by clicking the arrow on the top right corner and click "Logout"; - Clear cookies and cache, if you're using a computer; - Make sure you're using the most updated version of the app or browser; - Restart your computer or phone; - Uninstall and reinstall the app, if you're using a phone; - Log into Facebook and try again.
Unfortunately, there is no way to retrieve a Facebook message or conversation that you've permanently deleted—once you delete a message, it's gone from your side of the conversation for good. X Research source However, if you archived the conversation instead of deleting it, you can still find it in your hidden chats.
If you click on a Chat Head, it will bring you into the standard messaging screen, but you can't delete a message from within a Chat Head conversation. Next to your Chat Heads is the standard messages icon (a square dialog box with a mini lightning bolt inside).
Once you delete a Facebook message, it's gone for good — at least, from a strict Facebook Messenger perspective. But there are things you can do to get those messages back from other sources.
When you are researching how to do something such as bringing back deleted Facebook messages, you should search for the process under the year you are searching. For example, look for “bring back deleted messages on Facebook 2018” rather than just “bring back deleted Facebook messages.” This is because often there are some new methods ...
Through the years, Facebook messaging is one of the best ways for users to reminisce their old memories. Through this, you will be able to read those old conversations that you have that had made you emotional. That is why some people would tend to go through their old messages. But, as days go by, those old messages that you have on your Facebook Messenger gets piled up with the new messages ...
You can request to have your Facebook account permanently deleted.
Yes, it is easy to recover deleted Facebook messages, and you do not have to worry about mistakenly deleting the Facebook messages. However, you would be responsible for the kind of action you take for your messages. Archiving and un-archiving need to be done carefully. You must be aware of the messages you are archiving, as they will be gone from the list. To un-archive them, you will have to ...
Tap Delete all except starred (iPhone), Delete all messages (iPhone), or Clear (Android). This will clear all the messages in that conversation, which you will need to repeat for any chats you want to clear. If you saved a comment by tapping it to put a star icon next to it, this will not be deleted with the rest of the conversation.